Indian Flag



Indian National Flag

About Indian National Flag

  • The flag for India is the symbol of freedom. Alternately called the Tiranga.
  • The flag consists of three equal bands of colors placed horizontally. It is regarded as national treasure as it represents the country’s long struggle against oppression.
  • It was designed by Pingali Venkayya from Machilipatnam.
  • The top or the first band in the flag is saffron (Kesari). The color is symbolic of the virtues of courage, renunciation, patriotism and sacrifice.
  • The middle panel is white that stands for peace and the hope for unity.
  • The green band, placed at the bottom, stands for fertility of the land.
  • The Ashok Chakra or the “Wheel of Law” with 24 spokes is placed equally, at the center of the white panel. This Chakra stands symbolic of the continuous progress of the nation and the significance of justice.
It’s the same chakra borne by the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka. The ratio of the length to width of the flag is 3:2. The Indian flag code states that the official flags of India should be hand spun (made of Khadi).

History of Indian Flag

  • The brief history of the flag for India can be traced back to the year 1947. The Constituent Assembly officially adopted the Indian flag on 22nd July, 1947.

  • It served as the national flag of the Dominion of India from 15th August, 1947 to 26th January, 1950, after which it was officially retained as the national flag of the Republic of India.
As per the Flag Code of India, in effect from 26th January, 2002, the standard sizes of the Flag of India should be like this:

Size of the Flag Size of the Ashoka Chakra (mm) Length and width (mm)
1 6300 x 4200 1295
2 3600 x 2400 740
3 2700 x 1800 555
4 1800 x 1200 370
5 1350 x 900 280
6 900 x 600 185
7 450 x 300 90
8 225 x 150 40
9 150 x 100 25

Rules for governing the display of National Flag

  • The right size of the flag should be selected. The 225 x 150 mm ones should be selected for motor cars, 450x300 mm ones are meant for aircrafts (VVIP flights), and 150 x 100 mm are the table flags.
  • Earlier the private citizens of the country were only allowed to hoist the Indian Flag on important days such as the Independence Day, Republic Day and Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday. However, in 2001 renowned industrialist Mr Naveen Jindal flew the tricolor in his office building. The act was considered to be a breach of the Indian Flag Code and he was warned of prosecution. He filed a PIL against the move, citing it was every citizen’s right to fly the national flag as a mark of respect for his country. Supreme Court ruled the case in his favor after which the Union Cabinet amended the India Flag Code.
  • As per the amendment, in effect from  26th January 2002, the citizens can now fly the flag on any day of the year, provided they don’t dishonor or disrespect it in any manner. Disregard to the flag of India constitutes the following actions.
  • Dipping the flag in salute to any individual or a thing.
  • Making use of the flag as a drapery in any form except in state funerals, para military or armed forces funerals.
  • Using it as part of costumes or uniforms.
  • Printing or embroidering it on handkerchiefs, cushions, dress or napkins.
  • Flying it half mast except in cases of special instructions by the Government of India.
  • Flying it upside down.
  • The flag touching the ground.


Indian Independence Day Cards
Independence Day of various Countries
Argentina Australia Belgium Brazil Canada Columbia Costa Egypt France Germany
India Iran Ghana Kenya Macedonia Malaysia New Zealand Nigeria North Korea Norway
Pakistan Peru Russia Saudi Arabia Srilanka South Africa South Korea USA Zimbabwe

This website is up for sale at $3,000.00. Please contact 9811053538 for further details.